Get all the latest information about Kubernetes certification.


Share post:

Kubernetes is gaining more and more users on a daily basis. According to the results of a survey that was carried out by the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF), 96 percent of respondents are either currently utilizing or evaluating Kubernetes. Earning a Kubernetes certification demonstrates that you have the necessary skills and knowledge to make effective use of the tool. Employers will have a need for skilled professionals who are able to work on the Kubernetes tool as the platform’s adoption rates continue to rise. You will distinguish yourself from your contemporaries and demonstrate that you are capable of utilizing the tool if you take the course on Container Orchestration Using Kubernetes. The significance of the Kubernetes certification should be the first thing brought to your attention about this topic. Therefore, before you start making preparations, it is essential to have a solid understanding of the benefits of obtaining Kubernetes certifications. 

Candidates who obtain certification in Kubernetes benefit initially from increased recognition as a result of their accomplishment. The addition of a certification to your resume is unquestionably a fruitful move. Your resume will be an instant hit with potential employers as the popularity of container technologies continues to gradually increase, and more people are adopting these technologies. The number of engineers getting Kubernetes certification in Chicago is also expanding at a breakneck speed. Let us look at the most important certifications to consider:

1. Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) is one of the most important certification for Kubernetes.

When it comes to jobs for DevOps Engineers, a CKA certification is one of the most sought-after certifications. CKA certification will add value to your resume, regardless of whether you are an experienced IT professional or a recent college graduate looking for a job in the field. The primary reason for this is due to the format of the test. CKA is a hands-on certification exam, not like other certifications where exams have multiple-choice questions. Instead, CKA requires you to solve Kubernetes tasks and cluster issues from the command line. This certification is geared toward system administrators and engineers working in DevOps who are actively involved in the day-to-day operations of Kubernetes.

The Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) program ensures that individuals who complete it are equipped with the necessary abilities, knowledge, and expertise to carry out the duties associated with the Kubernetes administrator role.

The following set of domains and competencies will be the primary focus of the CKA exam.

  • Storage Troubleshooting 
  • Cluster Architecture
  • Installation, and Configuration Workloads
  • Scheduling Services
  • Networking

2. Kubernetes Application Developer Qualified and Certified (CKAD)

Developers and engineers who concentrate more on cloud-native microservices application development and deployments should try to get their CKAD certification. The CKAD certification places a greater emphasis on the practical aspects of using Kubernetes. The Cloud Native Application Deployment (CKAD) certification is for you if you are a developer or a Devops engineer who wants to demonstrate that you are capable of deploying applications on Kubernetes using cloud-native best practices.

Candidates must demonstrate their ability to design, build, and deploy cloud-native applications for Kubernetes in order to pass the Certified Kubernetes Application Developer (CKAD) examination.

In addition, it is a performance-based hands-on exam in which you will be required to solve Kubernetes tasks that are associated with the deployment of cloud-native applications on Kubernetes. The following Domains and Competencies are encompassed by CKAD:

  • Design and Construction of Applications Application Deployment Services
  • The Observability of the Application and Maintenance
  • Environment, Configuration, and Security of the Application, along with Networking and Services

3. Kubernetes Security Expert with the Certification (CKS)

Engineers who are involved in cloud-native security should strongly consider taking the CKS exam.

The CKS certification places a greater emphasis on Kubernetes’s safety. When discussing containerized environments, the topic of security is an extremely important factor. In order to reduce the attack surface, security best practices need to be applied at every stage, from the creation of a container image to its deployment on Kubernetes. This Kubernetes certification addresses all aspects of data security, from the creation of images to their deployment. As part of your preparation for this exam, you will need to become familiar with container security best practices and associate cncf security tooling such as Falco and Trivy.

The Certified Kubernetes Security Specialist (CKS) program provides assurance that a CKS possesses the skills, knowledge, and competence on a broad range of best practices for securing container-based applications and Kubernetes platforms during build, deployment, and runtime. This is done by demonstrating that a CKS has passed a series of exams. To participate in this exam, you must first obtain your CKA certification.

In order to be eligible to take the CKS examination, you must first earn the CKA credential. The following sets of domains and competencies are tested on the CKS.

  • Cluster Setup
  • Cluster Hardening 
  • System Hardening 
  • Minimize Microservice Vulnerabilities
  • Monitoring, logging, and ensuring runtime safety for supply chain operations

4. Kubernetes and Cloud Native (KCNA)

Students, IT managers, and engineers who are looking to gain foundational knowledge of the cloud-native ecosystem are ideal candidates for the KCNA certification.

The Kubernetes and cloud-native tools that are related to it are the primary focuses of the KCNA exam. When compared to the CKA, CKAD, and CKS exams, this one is a breeze. The exam consists of multiple-choice questions and lasts for a total of 90 minutes. In total, there are Sixty questions. 

A user’s foundational knowledge and skills in Kubernetes and the wider cloud native ecosystem can be demonstrated by passing the Kubernetes and Cloud Native Associate (KCNA) exam.

A successful performance on the certification exam requires paying attention to a great deal of information in addition to the specifics that are presented here. Candidates have a number of concerns, one of the most notable being whether or not their systems are compatible with the examination.

In addition to this, there are many other requirements that you must adhere to, such as using the official documentation for Kubernetes as references while you are taking the exam.


Related articles

Will Inflation Push Gold Rates to New Heights?

In recent times, the fluctuating gold rates in Ahmedabad have sparked discussions about the potential impact of inflation...

The Best Guide on How to Choose Enterprise Workflow Management Software

In the fast-paced business landscape of today, efficient and streamlined workflows are the backbone of successful enterprises. The...

Build Intelligent Workflow Automation for Digital Transformation

In today's rapidly evolving business landscape, staying competitive requires more than just embracing digital technologies—it demands a strategic...

The Challenges of Historic Home Management: Strategies for Success

Managing a historic home is a unique and rewarding experience, akin to being a custodian of history. These...